Festivals Spirituality

23 January 2021: Masik Karthigai

Masik Karthigai is a special monthly festival, very popular with Tamil Hindus. According to the Tamil calendar, it is a religious festival of the so-called “Karthigai Deepam (Karthikai vilakkidu)” which is celebrated every month. In fact, it is permitted to worship Lord Shiva and Lord Murugan within their sanctum-sanctorum in the temple. Masik Karthigai is a Hindu festival of lights, light and light around it, celebrated monthly in honor of Lord Shiva.

Religiously, it falls each and every month, according to Tamil-calendar. Here mentioning the dates, months and the days, Masik Karthigai is going to fall, this year (2021)

January 23, 2021, Saturday
February 19, 2021, Friday
March 18, 2021, Thursday
April 14, 2021, Wednesday
May 12, 2021, Wednesday
June 8, 2021, Tuesday
July 5, 2021, Monday
August 2, 2021, Monday
August 29, 2021, Sunday
September 25, 2021, Saturday
October 23, 2021, Saturday
November 19, 2021, Friday
December 16, 2021, Thursday

Karthikgai festival in Thiruvannamalai hills is very popular. Huge fire lamp is lit here which is visible to several kilometres around the hills. Devotees come here to pray Lord Shiva and seek his blessings.

The legends which are associated with the festivals are:
  • Fight for supremacy among the trinity “Brahma, Vishna and Maheshwara”
  • Birth of Lord Karthikeya also known as Lord Muruga, Subramanya, Shanmuga etc. (Son of Lord Shiva)